Changing oil cold

David R

I am a life long mechanic. I change the oil in my bike when its hot. I fill the filter, Upon restart, it rattles and clangs until oil pressure is up.

If I do it cold, I hear nothing different than a regular cold start. (no noise)
Doing it this way from now on.

There has to be a chain and tensioner in there making most of the noise.
David

I have always thought the "drain when hot" is worth about 30ml more of oil.... better off chainging it a week earlier if that is what worries one.....

Hot is probally more important if one wants to do things quickly.... and get the vehicle off the hoist and the next one on......

A quick check on the internet produced this bit of
info. It also confirms what I was told when I started
doing my own servicing.

Most Oil Experts Say It's Better To Drain The Oil When It's Hot Instead Of When It's Cold, For Several Reasons:​

• Oil viscosity is thinner when it's hot, so it drains more quickly and completely out of the engine than when it's cold.
  • On a hot engine, contaminants are more likely to remain suspended in the oil than when the oil is cold, increasing the chances they'll be expelled from the engine during the draining process.
  • Today's high-tech OHC engines hold oil in a lot more places compared to old-school motors, so it's got to be warm (and thin) to escape from all those upper-end crevices.
Point 2 is my main reason for doing an oil change when hot.

I always warm up my engines prior to an oil change for the above mentioned reasons. Normally I run the engine at idle for 15 minutes, let it rest for about five and then unscrew the drain plug. Been doing this for ages and never had an issue.

• Oil viscosity is thinner when it's hot, so it drains more quickly and completely out of the engine than when it's cold.