Does DIY maintenance void the warranty?

I looked for a concise answer and didn't see one...

I'm a reasonably competent mechanic and feel quite confident that I can perform the maintenance required for my R18TC.

Will BMW continue to honor the warranty if I perform my own service? 6k miles service is coming up.

If they will, what kind of documentation is required?

Lastly, will a dealer perform any necessary software updates without performing the associated maintenance?

May seem like crazy questions but I don't want to invest in bike specific tools and not be able to use them.

It all depends on the manufacturer etc. I found this but as you can see there are grey areas.
BMW Motorrad: "Servicing must be completed in line with the manufacturer's guidelines - although not necessarily BMW Motorrad parts, but parts and fluids that meet the manufacturer's specification of the BMW Motorrad parts.

"The servicing intervals must have been adhered to and items checked/replaced as per the manufacturer's guidance and expectations. If this is undertaken at an alternative dealership then responsibility sits with the customer to prove that this has taken place to meet the warranty terms if requested." Received 7 Feb 2024

The question will be, how long do you have left on your warranty and is the service price for this interval really worth the hassle?

I did my own service on my M109R the minute the warranty expired. I never cut corners or went cheap on consumables and I enjoyed 15 trouble free years with the bike, so the money I spent paying garage fees the first 3 years, was soon recovered by making my own service for the next 12 but whilst it was under warranty I did not mess around.

Each to their own but ask yourself the question to weigh the pros and cons.

I highly doubt that a non qualified home mechanic will be able to maintain the warranty. Here in the UK and the EU the mechanic must be trading as a mechanic/garage and be registered to pay business tax called VAT.