IDLES LIKE CRAP IN ROCK

David R

Something tells me that I will not be able to get this to idle smooth in ROCK.

It sounds terrible. Anyone tried to smooth it out?

I usually leave it in ROLL so when I stop, it does not shake and sputter while sitting at a light or when ever. Its smooth as can be. It should do that in ROCK too.

I am a life long mechanic. I remember folks telling me "its got a performance cam in it so this is the best it will Idle". Or "Its a performance engine" "Its supposed to sound like that".

Suggestions? Ideas?
David

I've noticed the same with mine. I just deal with the rough idle since I am always in rock mode unless I'm going to be on straight highway for awhile...then I put it in roll.
Not that big of deal to me tbh. I guess I just liken it to a old big block chevy with a nice cam in it lol. And to me thats not a bad thing

Sorry, this is redundant as I posted the same in another thread and hadn’t seen that you started this thread. The engineers intended it to be rough.

"Three main bearings support the longitudinally mounted crankshaft—one between the 180-degree rod journals. This increases the offset between the cylinders—the left forward of the right—and imparts the classic “rocking couple” vibration exhibited by non-counterbalanced boxers of yore. Only it’s greater due to the wider separation of the connecting rods by that center bearing. Add to this the strong flywheel effect that amplifies the R 18′s left-to-right shake at idle—and it’s pure cruiser. And like old-time boxers, there is no balance shaft in this engine—BMW’s engineers wanted you to feel that flywheel effect and a strong engine pulse. They got it, now you have it."

If you, in your experience as a mechanic, think that it's TOO rough, maybe there's something amiss?

It’s not consistent. There is no reason for it to fire the way it does.
Smooth is what it should be. Instead it’s herkity jerkity.
Maybe the uninformed like the out of tune sound, but I do not.